The ancient “Tridentum”, city of the “Three Teeth” (because of the hills Doss Trento, Doss Sant’Agata and Doss of San Rocco) became a roman settlement after harsh battles between Rhaetian tribes from the first century b.C.

After the fall of the Western Roman Empire, it was ruled by Ostrogoths, Lombards, Franks and finally became part of the Holy Roman Empire until 1207, when the Emperor Corrado II created the Princedom-Bishop of Trento, a large mineral deposit, which received the first Alpine mining statute under the prince bishop Federico Vana.

Known, in modern times, for the Council of Trento (1545-1563), the city was annexed to the Habsburg Empire after the  Congress of Vienna and merged with the Province of Tyrol. Meanwhile, the first railway was built in 1859 in the Valley of Adige and several administrative and economic measures were taken that made the province more modern. The newly-modernized province along with Trieste became icons with a strong presence in the Austrian culture. In 1950 Trento, Bolzano and the South Tyrol joined Italy, continuing to grow also thanks to the special autonomy to the Trentino-Alto Adige recognized by the Italian government.